The CHA Board and staff is comprised of a dedicated group of individuals from different backgrounds and sectors all sharing a strong interest in homelessness prevention, affordable housing and social equity.

Shelley Cook – Executive Director

Shelley has over 25-years of experience as a practitioner and senior administrator in the non-profit sector. She has worked extensively in program and community development in BC and Ontario, including developing and operating housing under a range of models. Prior to returning to university to complete her doctoral studies in 2014, Shelley was the Executive Director of John Howard Society in Kelowna, BC.


Shelley has a PhD in Interdisciplinary Studies from UBC Okanagan. Her doctoral research examined the socio-spatial aspects of homelessness in the urban environment with focus on service and policy implications. Shelley has been extremely active in social justice through her involvement in committees, local/provincial/national initiatives, and community-based research promoting equity and inclusion for marginalized groups. In 2017, Shelley received a national award (Dr. Alexander Aylett Graduate Scholarship in Urban Sustainability and Innovation) for her community-based research efforts. In 2019 she was awarded a Health System Impact Fellowship through the Canadian Institute for Health Research and the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research in BC.


Shelley is happy to be back living and working on Vancouver Island, after living in Victoria, BC, many years ago.

​Morgan Saddington – Administrative / Financial Coordinator
Morgan moved to the Cowichan Valley in 2008 and is happy to call the area her home with her husband, two daughters, dog Moose and cat Po. She joins Cowichan Housing with a strong background in non-profit arts administration, having worked previously with the Cowichan Valley Arts Council. Morgan continues to maintain her arts connection with the community as an active artist participating in local shows and events and by maintaining her own business, Morgan Ann Designs Jewellery.

Joy Hayden – Chair
A seasoned fundraiser and community engager, Joy has a proven track record of increasing revenues and developing new programs in the human services, not for profit sector.

For more than 25 years Joy has ensured those most vulnerable in our communities have the resources they require to be successful. Through this process she learned very quickly that safe and sustainable housing should be a priority and as a result Joy has led the development of numerous affordable housing projects and has developed numerous innovative housing solutions.

Joy moved to Cobble Hill last year and maintains her role in North Vancouver as Innovation and Engagement Specialist at Hollyburn Family Services Society. Her title aptly describes her focus to raise funds for unique programs that address gaps in services for people experiencing social issues in the community.

Gail Calderwood – Treasurer
Gail studied and worked in the field of biological oceanography and served on the board and worked with the Cowichan Community Land Trust before becoming a lawyer. She has now retired from her law practice which had a substantial focus on real estate. Gail remains involved in various community groups in the Cowichan region that are working to sustain and build resilience in our natural and social environments. You can often find her in her happy place kayaking the coastal waters, cycling or hiking the trails of the Cowichan.

Monica Finn – Secretary 
Monica is a librarian at the Vancouver Island Regional Library system. She has lived on Vancouver Island since 2002 and now lives in Duncan where she is actively involved in community events. She has been contributing to RAHD since attending the first Day of Direct Services event during Homelessness Action Week in 2013.

Patricia Gray – Director
Long time resident and owner/operator of Pine Paddocks Equestrian Center for 17 years in the valley. Over the years, she has worked for Canada Revenue as a Small Business auditor, Canada Employment and as a Community Care worker. She holds a VIU certificate in Hospitality Management. She currently sits on the Cowichan Green Community board as Treasurer and a Housing Strata Board. She was the General Contractor on one home in the valley and help build another. For relaxation, she enjoys Zumba, hiking, and riding the valley with her horse and dog.

Jane Barton-Greig – Director
Jane came to the Cowichan Valley in 1996 from Australia. Jane has had a long career in business, management, and academia. She has a bachelor’s degree in Sociology, a Bachelor of Education Degree in Special Education from Western University in London, and a Master of Business Degree from Curtin University of Technology in Australia. Jane has always participated in her community, active as a Scout Leader, and on several boards. She has two grown children, two Siamese cats, and cares deeply for the people of the Cowichan Valley.

Bob Brooke – City of Duncan Council Liaison [non-voting member]

Bob retired from a career in real estate in 2018. He is currently serving on the Duncan City Council and has been a resident of the valley for 30 years.

Qwuy’um’aat (Eyvette) Elliott – Director

Qwuy’um’aat brings over 7 years of Indigenous related experience working in non-profits, local government, and First Nations governance. She brings experience and expertise in community engagement, communications, housing, and human resources. She has most recently completed a Masters of Community Planning and holds a Bachelor of Business Administration along with a Certificate in First Nations Housing Management. She is a member of Cowichan Tribes and has strong connections with the Cowichan community and territory. When not working or volunteering she enjoys reading, beading, running, hiking, and spending time with her family.

Mark Buesink – Director

Mark moved to the Cowichan Valley in 2013 from Canmore with his wife Danielle and two children. Shortly after moving to the area, not only did he start his own Structural Engineering business (buepoint consulting ltd.), but he and his wife also adopted a sibling group of four, quickly expanding their family. In his spare time, Mark likes to ride his motorcycle, play music, and hang out with his family. Mark is passionate about affordable housing and is eager to use his expertise in Structural Engineering to reduce homelessness and to promote social equity.


We would like to extend our warmest thank you to our current Housing Trust Fund Allocations Committee members Chloe Boyle, D’Arcy Beaveridge, and Lynn Taylor Weaver, past Executive Directors Beverly Suderman, John Horn and Terri Mattin, and to our past Board Members: Guido Weisz, Chris Hall, Caelen Cook, Craig Marchinko, James L. Cosh, Morgan McLeod, Georgina Jackson, Debbie Williams, Brigid Reynolds, Tina Schoen and Gerry Giles.